Annual Day1 Benefit to Honor Six Community Leaders of Faith

The annual benefit for the Alliance for Christian Media and the Day1 ministry will take place on Tuesday, February 28, 2012 at the Piedmont Driving Club in Atlanta at 6:30 p.m.

This year's event will honor leaders in the Atlanta area who are well known for their commitment to the good of our community, but who may have not been recognized for their deep commitment to their church and the religious community.

Representatives from each of the participating denominations on Day1 will be recognized. The event will support the radio and internet ministry, Day1 (formerly the Protestant Hour).

This year's honorees will be:

Cooperative Baptist Fellowship : The Rev. Dr. William L. Self,  Senior Pastor, Johns Creek Baptist Church

Episcopal Church : The Rt. Rev. J. Neil Alexander,  Episcopal Bishop of Atlanta

Evangelical Lutheran Church :   Connie B. and John W. Blend III , Co-Founders, Goshen Valley Boys Ranch, Lutheran Church of the Redeemer

Presbyterian Church : Richard & Wini Myrick,  Retired Chairman, The Myrick Company & Community Volunteer, Northwest Presbyterian Church

United Church of Christ : The Rev. Dr. Dwight Andrews,  Senior Minister, First Congregational Church

United Methodist Church : Dan Reeves , Former Head Coach, Atlanta Falcons, Peachtree Road United Methodist Church

Day1 began in 1945 when leaders of several major denominations and church-related colleges and seminaries came together with the goal of spreading the Good News of God's love and justice through radio. Every week since then, Day1 has presented compelling sermons from the most accomplished preachers from across America. We continue to work together with preachers, churches, and denominations to share God's word on the radio and online-bringing faith and hope to hundreds of thousands of people around the world.

Day1 is carried nationally by over 200 stations, is regularly broadcast on the American Forces Radio Network and is also accessible by podcast at Day1 has won numerous awards including the George Foster Peabody Award and the Communicators' Award for Excellence in inspirational radio. It is produced by the Alliance for Christian Media in association with the Cooperative Baptist Fellowship, The Episcopal Church, the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), the United Church of Christ and the United Methodist Church.

Tickets for the event are $175 per person. Please call Rebecca Kurziak at 404-418-6772 to make your reservation today.